RSS

I’m really fortunate. I’m really happy, and I’m really really lucky to be where I am.

04 Jul

“I’m really fortunate. I’m really happy, and I’m really really lucky to be where I am.” – Mariah Carey

Happy 4th of July!

4th of July is definitely one of my favorite holidays. When I was younger, it was the symbol that summer was finally here since I wouldn’t get out of school until the end of June. It symbolized long days, time by the pool, carefree fun, and freedom.

Now, I end the spring semester of college in April and have a job in the summer, so not as much time is spent by the pool or lounging around. In fact, some days at work are harder and longer than school days and I find myself yearning to get back to Rice! But one aspect holds true about this holiday and is reinforced a little bit more each year, freedom.

Last month I was given the opportunity to travel to Peru. While Peru is a presidential, representative democratic republic, the military has been prominent in the Peruvian history and coups have often interrupted the civilian constitutional government. Within the past 30 years, there have still been rural insurgent movements, such as the Shining Path and Tupac Amaru Revolutionary Movement, leading to much internal conflict within the country. Also, the government has, more than once, taken control over the newspapers and television news shows and used fear as a tactic to maintain order and control of the country. Even within the past 15 years, there have been bribery scandals, including embezzlement and drug trafficking, as well as severe human rights violations.

Aside from the politics, the water is not potable, over 20 percent of the country suffers from malnutrition, most of the roads outside the main cities are not maintained, there have been massive floods and landslides devastating the agriculture and quality of life of the country, and the national poverty rate is around 40 percent.

I will say that I thoroughly enjoyed my travels through Peru, minus getting e-coli, of course. The country is gorgeous, full of lush foliage and amazing array of flora and fauna. The hydrology of the region is incredible (sorry, water nerd), as well as abundance of different climates and ecosystems all nestled in to one country – from the Andes Mountains to the Amazon. The cities are filled with color and architecture, and the villages are bursting with culture and care.

However, after spending two weeks in a third world country, nothing has made me more appreciative for everything we have in America. We take for granted that we have potable drinking water – we even get mad when we have to pay for it as though it is a right of ours. We take for granted that, even after 9/11, our rights as US citizens were not suspended and that the House and Senate were not shut down. We take for granted that we can get into our cars, drive on real roads, arrive at supermarkets, and provide a well-balanced meal for our families. We take for granted our ability to pursue an education. We take for granted our quality of life.

So on the 4th of July, I just want to say that I am truly grateful and feel very fortunate for everything I have. I am proud to be an American (where at least I know I’m free… (sorry, I’ll stop singing)), I am grateful for the opportunities my country and family have provided me with, and I am fortunate and very lucky to be where I am. And that makes me happy.

 

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a comment